Subscribe to weekly email version of Buddha Weekly

Subscribe to receive Buddha Weekly content by email. Privacy assured. No Spam or advertising. Email is handled via Feedblitz, opt-in and out any time.

Our email version is sent out on Tuesdays, once per week, with the latest stories.



Buddha Weekly email subscription
Your email address:*
  • Save
Please enter all required fields
Click to hide
  • Save
Correct invalid entries
Click to hide
  • Save

  • Save

Lee Kane, Editor

Author | Buddha Weekly

Lee Kane is the editor of Buddha Weekly, since 2007. His main focuses as a writer are mindfulness techniques, meditation, Dharma and Sutra commentaries, Buddhist practices, international perspectives and traditions, Vajrayana, Mahayana, Zen. He also covers various events.
Lee also contributes as a writer to various other online magazines and blogs.

Other Popular Stories

Invalid Email


  1. Avatar Asha S on February 8, 2018 at 8:20 am

    Thank You..Thank You..Thank You..!!

  2. Avatar Matthew Scrase on June 22, 2018 at 11:38 pm

    Hi. loved the site.

    can someone tell me how vajrasattva is indicated in images of vajrakilaya I seem to remember that vajrakilaya has him at his heart but I can’t see anything on the image. I googled what the significance was which is why I’m writing here.

    • Lee Kane, Editor Lee Kane, Editor on June 23, 2018 at 5:45 pm

      Thank you for your kind words. Yes, Vajrakilaya is the wrathful form of Vajrasattva (although interpretations vary from school to school) — in the same way Hayagriva is the wrathful form of Amitabha and Yamantaka is the wrathful form of Manjushri. Vajrakilaya, who as symbolized by the Phurba (activity) and other symbols represent ENLIGHTENED ACTIVITY of all the Buddhas (you could say Vajrasattva in action). In the same way, Yamantaka is the enlightened body (at least in the Kagye system —- even though Manjushri represents “enlightened speech” or wisdom or dharma, in the Kagye his wrathful form represents Enlightened Body.) Hayagriva is enlightened speech (speech family, Lotus family, Amitabha). Chakrasamvara (Demchok) or Yangdak Heruka (Kagye) represents Enlightened Mind.
      With most wrathful deities, there isn’t necessarily a “direct” visualization link to the peaceful deity. With Yamantaka, you clearly do have Manjushri’s head on top of the other heads, and with Hayagriva the “red” body definitely links to Amitabha —- and again you have “activity” symbolized by the Greeen (activity) horse head.
      Although it’s not necessarily stated or taught this way, I think of Wrathful deities as ACTIVITY of deities. Their wrath and motion and power connotes activity. So, you could say Vakrakilaya — activity of Vajrasattva; Hayagriva, the activity of Speech or Amitabha, etc. There’s a lot more going on with a visualization of any wrathful mandala.
      You asked about symbols that might link to Vajrasattva. Although typically the centre two hands hold the Phurba, you will actually see, in the right hands (on some visualizations) the vajra, which of course is a core symbol of Vajrasattva.
      In kindness, Lee.

  3. Avatar Helena on August 4, 2018 at 7:23 pm

    How many Buddhas are there? And how many are specifically seen in Buddhism? Are the “visible” Buddhas just a vehicle for the information that is needed to achieve Buddha-hood?
    Thank you.

  4. Avatar Géraldine-Siri on September 1, 2018 at 7:19 am

    Namaste I tried to Subscribe tath each wek come some teching from you . But 1.and 2. to send my mail it does not go. i kope know with this way


    Géraldine -Siri Schmid

    • Lee Kane, Editor Lee Kane, Editor on September 9, 2018 at 9:49 am

      Thank you for reporting this issue, we’ll work on fixing. In kindness, Lee

Leave a Comment


Translate »